Book Review: Ready, Study, Go!

Title: Ready, Study, Go! Smart Ways to Learn

Publisher: Harper Collins India

Authors: Khurshed Batliwala & Dinesh Ghodke

“Ready, Study, Go!” is aimed at presenting to readers the methods of effective learning. And it does succeed.

Penned by, IIT pass outs Khurshed Batliwala & Dinesh Ghodke- better known as ‘Bawa N Dinesh‘- this book is an insight into authors’ experiences over the years as leaders, organizers, observers,  Art of Living teachers, and above all common students struggling with books & notes.

About the Authors

Khurshed, an Art of Living teacher at Bangalore Ashram, holds a Masters degree in Mathematics from IIT Bombay. He is an ardent lover of music & food, and runs a cafe at the Ashram. Through his workshops, Bawa pursues his interest in various fields.

Dinesh is a B.Tech. in metallurgy & material science from the same institute. His urge to make a difference to the society, paved way for him to be an Art of Living teacher. A fitness enthusiast, with a sportsman spirit, Dinesh is also a prolific writer.

Under the guidance of Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Bawa and Dinesh have run several social projects & designed a program called YES!+ (Youth Empowerment and Skills). They have an experience of teaching students from all sections of society.  And this book- to be precise, is a simply the result of all that they have done throughout the years.

And now the book…

As the sub title reads, “Smart Ways to Learn”, this book is actually a compilation of several smart ways to learn. The first chapter provides a description of the seven levels of our existence and how learning is a process that requires proper synchronization of all the seven levels. The subsequent chapters deal with taking proper care of the body & the requirement of a proper attitude to study effectively.

The book seeks to answer several irksome questions- What, Where, When and How to study?, that have puzzled students since time immemorial. I feel the chapters titled ‘Emergency Studying‘ and ‘Using the Brain‘ may be printed separately to be given to students in schools or colleges. They will prove to be really really helpful in discovering the art of studying.

The authors have provided a number of instances from their personal lives to support their arguments. They show the readers how rote learning can be avoided with the help of Mind Mapping and Radical Thinking. Besides this, the chapters on team leadership and relationships act as an icing on the cake.

Some people might feel that the last chapters of the book are superfluous, but those chapters are like a free dessert after the main course. These very chapters make this book self contained.

Thus, ‘Ready, Study, Go!’ is a must read for people of all ages. This book deserves a place on the desk of every student, amateur & professional.

Final take on the Book

This book lived up to my expectations to a great extent. I feel it has some things which people already know, presented in a more convincing and better way. In the very first chapter, the authors write about bringing positive thoughts to mind, which reminds me of the book ‘The Secret’ by Rhonda Byrne. However, the authors have done a great job by including a chapter on ‘The Secret’ as well, in which things are presented in a more convincing manner (as I already said).

The concept of Mind mapping & Radical thinking is also something about which most people already know. It is just that this concept has found its rightful place. Despite all this, the book has a lot more new things to offer its readers.

My Rating: **** (4/5)

Know more about the authors and the publishing house here: www.bawandinesh.in and www.harpercollins.co.in.

Available for purchase on Amazon.in and Infibeam.

What’s your take on this book? What are your opinions on some of the techniques that I’ve mentioned above?  And do you have any tips for ‘effective learning’? Would love to hear. Thanks.

 

26 thoughts on “Book Review: Ready, Study, Go!

  1. Hey guys, this is Daljit, and I’m not fond of reading books. But thankyou Suraj, for this fabulous review. Now I am interested in this book and I’ll go through it very soon. I’ll leave my opinions the very moment I complete this book.
    Thanks once again for this review.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ll right away take hold of your rss as I can not to find
    your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize so that I
    may subscribe. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll right away snatch your rss feed as I can not in finding
    your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Please permit me know so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.

    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the net will be a lot more
    useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is really fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to looking for extra of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness
    in your post is simply great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to
    keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please carry on the gratifying work.

    Like

  7. Hello great blog! Does running a blog like this require
    a great deal of work? I’ve absolutely no expertise in programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any suggestions
    or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic however I just wanted to ask.
    Appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

