Poetry: The Road not taken

The Road not Taken is a famous anecdotal poem by Robert Frost. It is my favorite poem. It is a simple & philosophical poem about a universal truth. The poem is based on the idea that every man has to make one from multiple choices. And every choice determines what we are and what we will be.

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveller, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden back.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.
                                                  – Robert Frost

So what do you think about the poem? Isn’t it a simple yet thought provoking poem? Have you read it before? Do share your thoughts. Thanks 🙂


Previous Poems:

15 thoughts on “Poetry: The Road not taken

  1. Thank you for sharing.

    I really enjoy Robert Frost’s work, particularly the way he makes the reader visualise rural scenery. Here the “yellow wood” is so provoking. I wouldn’t usually describe a wood as yellow but with this simple description I visualise an oil painting representation of a dewy woodland area, very striking and beautiful.

    I think this dealing with something so relateable to every reader makes the poem so much more intriguing. “I shall be telling this with a sigh” lends a feeling of nostalgia, something we are all familiar with – especially when we consider paths untrodden.

    The rhyming scheme is very beautiful and to me symbolises the piecing together of our lives like pebbles on a path. In a five line stanza, three of the lines rhyme and the remaining two rhyme which could be symbolic for the two paths within the story of the poem, with one being taken more and the other a rhyme still to be had.

    Again, thank you for sharing. I’m at a bit of a crossroads in my own life and it was great to reflect a little with Frost’s scenic work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NiceI remember this was the poem that we always recite during grade school. Nostalgic. Your blog is simple but is pleasing to the readers. Nice post by the way. If you have time pls check out my blog too. Thank you! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Poetry: Ah, Are you digging on my grave?  | Books N Me

  4. Pingback: Poetry: Mirror | Books N Me

  5. Pingback: Poetry: Keeping Quiet | Books N Me

  6. Pingback: Poetry: Yesterday’s Flowers | Books N Me

  7. Pingback: Poetry: Because I could not stop for Death | Books N Me

  8. Pingback: Poetry: Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening | Books N Me

  9. Pingback: Poetry: Into Another World | Books N Me

Leave a Reply

