Book Review: A Knotty Affair

Title: A Knotty Affair
Author: Dhaval Birajdar Jinadatt
Publisher: Leadstart Publishers
Pages: 227
ISBN: 9789352016242
Source: Goodreads Giveaway

‘A Knotty Affair’  is the story of Viraj Sargaokar, a software engineer, whose soul is burdened with his past. It is the story of a fight for justice, a fight against inferiority and a fight for love.

About the Author

Dhaval Birajdar has studied Mechanical Engineering. He is presently working as an Assistant Professor in a reputed college in Mumbai. He calls himself an idealist at mind, professor by profession and writer by passion. His first novel was ‘366 Days’ and this is his second work.

Now the Affair

Our protagonist is a 31 year old successful guy, who has everything except a life partner & his father, who died seeking justice. We get a glimpse of Viraj’s college days, when he had zero confidence and stammered while speaking.

Viraj finds it difficult to endure in a college where boys are called dudes & he doesn’t even know the meaning of dude. Nobody is interested in talking to him. His only friend in the college is his partner in Practicals, Ruhi. He finds himself drawn towards Ruhi but has to face a heartbreak in the end.

Viraj’s father is professor in the same college. His life turns upside down when his innocent father is accused of bribery. Now the only motive that Viraj has is to prove the innocence of his father.

Then we are brought back to present & we witness how Viraj ultimately succeeds not only in getting justice but also the love of his life. It is, thus, a story of Viraj’s transformation. As the novel proceeds, Viraj emerges as a confident & independent person.

My Verdict

The story of the novel is a sweet one. It is amusing but certainly not impressing. It seems the author wanted to keep the Court Room Drama in the centre of the novel. The book is divided in 7 parts & each part is called a Defence (as given by a Lawyer in the court). The structure of the novel doesn’t match with the plot. There’s very less of court room Drama. It is Viraj’s love story that takes the centre stage. The novel ends with completion of his love story.

The novel is written in a simple & lucid manner. The story is also very plain & lacks any kind of depth or complexity. Despite the simple story, I was not bored while reading it. It is the writing style that keeps one engaged.

I finished the book in 3 sittings. One can easily finish it in one sitting. It is actually of the size of a novella. One thing that I hated about this book is that it had many grammatical mistakes. The author should have proofread it.

The novel can be pleasant for some readers. Even I found it pleasant. It is fine for a one time read or to kill time.

My Rating: *** (2.5/5)

What are your views on this book? Does the story sound like some movie? I’d love to hear what you people think. Thanks.


Available for purchase on Amazon.in and Flipkart.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: A Knotty Affair

  1. That was such a true and honest review. I am glad you stated it in clear cut words what you felt about this book, I think I should also try to do that, since it’s a responsibilty of a reviewer to suggest his reader a good book, not to impress the author!
    A great review, and yes, the story truly felt like a king of movie plot.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read the novel myself, yet your description renders it tempting! Super good post. I’m not one of those readers who read just to “pass the time”. I usually like to read critically and think about how I feel about the ideas, characters, and events illustrated in a novel and how I could write about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi there! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

