Book Review: The Fisherman’s Story

Title: The Fisherman’s Story
Author: Simon Boreham
Publisher: Olympia Publishers
Pages: 206
ISBN: 978-1848979482
Source: Publisher

Book Review tfs.png

The Fisherman’s Story is a book based on the very intriguing incidence of Jesus’s crucifixion. The story starts after the episode of crucifixion and the author unfolds an imaginative story of what happens to Christ’s body after his crucifixion. Christ’s body is rescued by Joseph and Lukas. The disappearance of his body from his tomb is explained through the news of Christ’s resurrection.

And then begins a slow and long process of Christ’s healing. The fact that Jesus has survived is kept a secret and soon Jesus, now a cripple, is sent to a secret location, known only to Joseph. For the world Jesus is dead, but Jesus is actually leading a new & different life, that of an ordinary man, with Mary (not Virgin Mary). The two lead the life of a man and a woman.

The journey of Jesus & Mary to the other world is not an ordinary one. Also featuring in this journey are Barabbas and Pontius Pilate, who have both been associated with Jesus’s past life. But such is Jesus’ s charisma that not only the journey is successful, but Barabbas also undergoes a change. Having undergone a transformation, Barabbas now wants to devote his life in serving Jesus.

Life seems promising for the three of them. But life has hurdles that one is bound to face. A special child is born and Jesus passes one the first birthday of his child. Although christened as David, the child is later called Ruth. David or Ruth? Ruth or David?

Soon the support offered by Barabbas also goes away. And Mary is left alone with her child who has a whole life lying ahead. It is this special child whose life story we are told in this book.

My Verdict

I was drawn to this book by the idea that Jesus could have survived crucifixion. And what would have been his life afterwards? The book has a very interesting premises. And I was hooked up for the major part of the book. Being a non-Christian, I didn’t know most of the characters featured in this book. So while reading this book, I kept on googling the names and it felt great knowing something new.

Simon Boreham’s writing is crystal clear. He knows how to keep the readers engaged. The Fisherman’s Story is not a simple story as one may expect. It is a fusion of several genres- Romance, Thriller and little bit Erotica. There is something more in this book which made me enjoy it more than I would have enjoyed it otherwise. I can’t mention it here because I don’t want to give any spoiler (unless you’ve already guessed it).

I was loving the book till about 70% of it but then as the plot moved ahead, I realized the author was working on just a few plot ideas and bringing those same ideas again. This led me to reduce one star from my final rating. The story becomes quite predictable and so I felt as if I were reading some children’s book.

Besides this issue with the plot, I didn’t like the characterization. All the characters seemed mere puppets in the hands of the author. No character has a stand of his/her own. At times when the story could have moved to a different direction, the author forcefully takes the turn that he wants to.

All in all, this book has some weak points but it is an enjoyable read. I would certainly recommend it, if you’re looking for something light. Even if you’re just curious, the way I was, you should read it and maybe come up with an ending of your own.

My Rating: *** (3.25/5)

What do you think about this book? Have you read any fictional book on Jesus’s life? Do share your thoughts. Thanks.


*I was kindly sent a copy by the Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Views expressed are entirely personal & unbiased.*

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fisherman’s Story

  1. Pingback: Poetry: Tree Secrets | Books N Myself

Leave a comment