Poetry: Funeral Blues

“Funeral Blues” is penned by W. H. Auden, one of the prominent poets of 1930s. The speaker of the poem is a lady, who is lamenting over the death of her husband. It’s a very touching poem as the whole world has come to an end for the wife.

Funeral Blues

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
Prevent the dogs from barking with a juicy bone,
Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead,
Scribbling on the sky the message: he is dead,
Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East, and West,
My working week, and my Sunday rest,
My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
I thought that love would last forever: I was wrong.

The star are not wanted now, put out everyone;
Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun,
Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood:
For nothing now can come to any good.
                                                    – W. H. Auden

So, isn’t it a poignant poem? Did you like it? I personally liked the 3rd stanza. Did you enjoy reading any particular stanza? Have you read any other poem by W.H. Auden?

Do share your thoughts & love for Poetry.

And stay tuned for next poem. I’ll post it on the First Friday of February.


Previous Post: Ode on Solitude 

11 thoughts on “Poetry: Funeral Blues

  1. Pingback: Poetry: The Road not taken | Books N Me

  2. Pingback: Poetry: Ah, Are you digging on my grave?  | Books N Me

  3. Pingback: Poetry: Mirror | Books N Me

  4. Pingback: Poetry: Keeping Quiet | Books N Me

  5. Pingback: Poetry: Yesterday’s Flowers | Books N Me

  6. Pingback: Poetry: Because I could not stop for Death | Books N Me

  7. Pingback: Poetry: Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening | Books N Me

  8. Pingback: Poetry: Into Another World | Books N Me

  9. Pingback: Poetry: Musee Des Beaux Arts | Books N Myself

Leave a comment